METALLICA Played Its First Concert Exactly 40 Years Ago

METALLICA celebrated the 40th anniversary of the band's first-ever concert by sharing an early flyer promoting the gig. METALLICA also included the setlist for the show, which took place at Radio City in Anaheim, California. The group played mostly covers, charged $15 for people to see the performance and drew 75 people.

The Radio City concert was held just months before METALLICA made its recording debut on the first "Metal Massacre" compilation (on which they were credited as METTALLICA) — and featured METALLICA's then-lineup of James Hetfield on vocals, Dave Mustaine on guitar, Ron McGovney on bass and Lars Ulrich on drums.

The setlist

01. Hit The Lights (Hetfield, Ulrich)

02. Blitzkrieg (BLITZKRIEG cover)

03. Helpless (DIAMOND HEAD cover)

04. Jump In The Fire (Hetfield, Ulrich, Mustaine)

05. Let It Loose (SAVAGE cover)

06. Sucking My Love (DIAMOND HEAD cover)

07. Am I Evil? (DIAMOND HEAD cover)

08. The Prince (DIAMOND HEAD cover)

09. Killing Time (SWEET SAVAGE cover)


Photo: AFP

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content