USFL reveals its eight franchises for 2022

The United States Football League is prepared to give spring football another try, and on Monday the eight teams that will open its first season in the spring of 2022 were revealed on Fox Sports. The league chose eight franchises that were also in the original USFL, which ran from 1983 to 1986, and retained rights to key original team names.

These are the eight teams that will play in 2022. Four will be in the North Division and four will be in the South Division:


Michigan Panthers

New Jersey Generals

Philadelphia Stars

Pittsburgh Maulers


Birmingham Stallions

Houston Gamblers

New Orleans Breakers

Tampa Bay Bandits

All eight teams will play games in one location in the inaugural season. The logos have been updated for the new league and Fox Sports explained that the central location will be announced at a later date. The league will begin play in April 2022, with games every Saturday and Sunday during a 10-game season.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content